Nursing schools » Become a Nurse » Types of nursing program

Types of nursing program

Types of nursing program

There are four different ways to become a nurse, although the first two are the most popular.

Bachelor of Science Nursing (BS/BSN)

Bachelor of Science Nursing BSN is a four year program that is offered by colleges and universities. Many students does not have the time to study a full program and the accelerated programs are a good option for them. This program trains nurses to focus in all health care situations. BSN graduates have increased opportunities in different areas of healthcare. To have a BSN graduate will help you in your career and of course to have more chances to get a job position. For example, a BSN is indispensable for entry into a masters of science in nursing program, in which you can acquire a nursing position, such as clinical nurse specialist, nurse practitioner, nurse educator, or nurse researcher.

A BSN also is frequently needed for military nursing or public health nursing.
The study programs include some of the following subject areas: Biochemistry, nutrition, clinical microbiology, behavioral science, anatomy, physiology and language and communications. Graduates from BSN Programs are prepared to integrate knowledge into professional nursing practice, demonstrate ethical and professional nursing values and implement health promotion and disease prevention plans.

Associates Degree in Nursing (ADN)

Associates Degree in Nursing It is offered by junior and community colleges and sometimes at universities and hospitals. An ADN is a two or three year program, which educates nurses in providing direct patient care.

With this program, you can get your degree in 2 years and start practicing as an RN as soon as your approved for your state board examination.

ADN Programs have a high demand, therefore are selective about who is admitted. The most important aspects are entrance exam scores and prior college experience, though some schools require a previous science course as well.

Hospital Diploma

Hospital Diploma Hospital Diploma is a program in where you study and work simultaneously for several years in a hospital with other nurses, and with educators. Many people think that a Hospital diploma is the better way to be a trained and skilled nurse.

But don't confuse with LPN because for this requirements are totally different, and is rarely given by hospitals or traditional colleges. You'll usually obtain an LPN certification at a community or technical college.

Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

Licensed Practical Nurse Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) or Licensed Vocational Nurses (LVN) is a program offered at vocational/technical schools or community colleges that only take about a year of study.

Now, if you desire enroll in an Accelerated Program (Accelerated BSN/MSN) that is more specific for nurses that already have Bachelors or even Masters degrees, you can enroll at many universities who offer these programs for an additional four years.

In addition to obtaining one of the above degrees, nurses need to pass the NCLEX-RN, a national licensing exam.

License Practical Nurse refers to a nurse who cares for injured, sick or convalescent people by the direction of physicians or registered nurse. These nurses usually provide basic care such as taking the patient's temperature, blood pressure and pulse along with giving injections, enemas, and massages. These nurses also assist patients with bathing, dressing, walking, moving, eating and personal hygiene.

LPN usually work in hospitals, nursing homes, community health clinics, public health departments or as a private or school nurses.